w w w . d a n c e d i r e c t o r y . c o . z a
Home // Events Calendar // Search Our Directory // Contact Us // About Us //
Acrobatic Dance
African Dance
Argentine Tango
Belly Dancing
Classical Indian Dance
Costume Hire and Design
Dance Accompanist
Dance and Excercise
Dance Competitions
Dance and Health
Dance DVDs
Dance Facts
Dance Fitness
Dance Institutes
Dance Mouse
Dance Outreach Programmes
Dance Societies and Companies
Dance Space for Rent
Folk Dancing
Highland Dancing
Irish Dancing
International Dance Competitions
Int Dance Schools and Companies
Kids and Teens
Latin American and Ballroom
Line Dancing
Modern Dance and Hip Hop
MTN SAMA Lifetime Achievement Award
Musical Theatre
Nia Dancing
People In Dance
Pole Dance Fitness
Reality of Dance
Religious Dance
SA Choreographers
Scottish Dance
Shops and Services
Sound, Video and Photo
Spanish Dancing
Tap Dance
Dance Poetry
Dance Wisdom
WIN... WIN... WIN!!!
E-Mail Interviews
Dance International
Written by: SAMA

SAMA 16 honour South African legends of music.

SA Musics biggest platform to showcase, host and honour all the Lifetime Achievement Award Winners of past, present & future.

Left: Khan from the group, The Parlotones, and Tamara Dey from the Group Flash Republic, attend MTV Africas 5th Birthday Celebration held at Urban Tree in Sandton, on Satuday 6 March 2010.

Right: The SAMA Nominated group, Teargas, performed at MTV Africas 5th Birthday Celebration held at Urban Tree in Sandton, on Staurday 6 March 2010.

Image Credits: Cathy Pinnock

Many aspire to become one; not many achieve it. Only a select few are honoured every year by their peers and the Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA) as legends of South African Music who have earned the right over a long successful career to be recognised and receive the coveted SAMA statuette on the biggest night in SA music The prestigious MTN SAMA Lifetime Achievement Award.

This award, decided by the members of the RiSA Executive Committee, is one of the highest accolades that can be given to a South African artist or producer. Whilst the majority MTN SAMA nominations are adjudicated and nominated by the panel of MTN SAMA judges, Lifetime Achievement Award nominees are nominated by their peers and representatives across the recording industry.The RiSA Executive Committee then considers the nominees contribution to shaping, influencing and defining South African music and its industry through their work over the lifespan of their careers when determining who the ultimate recipients will be in any given year. Although not mandatory, it is preferable for nominees to have been active in the music industry for a minimum of 20 years.

As much as the Lifetime Achievement Award recognises experience and success, it is also an acknowledgement of how much the winner has helped to champion South African music and develop the local music industry. The award is given to those icons in music who have, through a lifelong commitment, significantly shaped and advanced South African music and helped uplift and guide other artists and producers. As such, it can only be presented to any artist once.

Our Lifetime Achievers are the icons who defined and shaped who we are today in South African Music and the voice of aspiration and empowerment to millions of fans. In 2010 the eyes of the world will be on our amazing multi faceted and culturally rich country. Our 16th MTN SAMA in 2010 will showcase the best in SA music from the past, present and future commented the MTN SAMA organizers. In addition, MTN SAMA16 will be the induction of an ongoing annual platform and home for all Lifetime Achievers, our icons of music

As our long-time involvement in the SAMAs testifies, MTN is committed towards supporting South African music on all levels. The various MTN music festivals taking place around the country and the MTN music bundles are just some examples of our investment. With the Lifetime Achievers, the MTN SAMAs will show performers from all walks of life what is possible through hard work, passion, and commitment, says Bernard Pieters, senior sponsorship manager at MTN South Africa.

SABC1 is proud of its long-standing history of support to our local artists and musicians. We are committed to ensure they have ready access to a national television platform to express their god-given creative talents. The Lifetime Achievement Award holds a special significance to us, as it represents the culmination of a long-travelled road together with the artists, to a point where we celebrate their lifetime achievements. The 16th SAMA will take place in a special historic moment when the focus of the entire world will be on Africa, and South Africa as the host-nation of the 2010 FIFA World Cup, for the first time ever on the continent. What an opportune moment to showcase and celebrate our own home-brewed talents, says Leo Manne, SABC1s Acting General Manager.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is the ultimate accolade given to the true legends, those artists who have inspired, and will continue to inspire, legions of up-and-coming musicians and aspiring fans. They are the true originators the leaders who form the backbone of our thriving, versatile music industry.

And this is proven by the incredible list of artists who have won the Lifetime Achievement Award in the past:

West Nkosi
Johnny Clegg / Sipho Mchunu (Juluka)
Joseph Tshabalala
Big Voice Jack Lerole
Koloi Lebona
Chicco Sello Twala
Miriam Makeba
Brenda Fassie
Mahlathini & the Mahotela Queens
Dorothy Masuku
Abdulllah Ibrahim
Margaret Singana
Nico Caarstens
Sipho Mabuse
Dan Hill
Thandi Klaasen
Hugh Masekela
Dolly Rathebe
Caiphus Semenya
Rex Rabanye
Jonas Gwangwa
Al Debbo
Letta Mbulu
Boet Pretorius
Philip Tabane
Soul Brothers
Albert Ralulimi
Lucky Dube
David Gresham
Ge Korsten
Princess Magogo Dina KaZulu
Yvonne Chaka Chaka
Enoch Sontonga
Anton Goosen
John Lindermann
Moses Dlamini

Follow the 16th Annual MTN South African Music Awards (SAMA) on:



admin log-in // Copyright 2000 - 2014 DanceDirectory //
...now listing: 497 members in our directory!

w w w . d a n c e d i r e c t o r y . c o . z a